Wedding Planning

I’ve always been more for the written word and Sylvia’s always been an auditory person and it’s funny how our preferred methods of expression make themselves known the longer we know each other. I write really long emails to Sylvia nearly every day and she talks through everything even though sometimes I’m confused what she’s talking about since I’m not always part of her inner/outer monologue until she clues me in. Thankfully I’ve learned and continue to understand how not to be overwhelmed by constant ideas or suggestions as they happen and she’s become far more understanding regarding the fact that sometimes I really just don’t have anything to say or that I might not have anything in particular on my mind. It’s not that I don’t necessarily have anything on my mind either, I just don’t have anything that I feel necessary to bring up as I like to be economical with my verbal communication, especially since I’m convinced I have a genetic disorder that encourages everyone to interrupt me when I’m trying to say something. I’m not kidding. Seriously. Ask anyone I know and they’ll laugh and nod their heads.

We recently went to brunch with our friend Dan Hickey, and a brilliant idea was hatched. Sylvia loves to read what I have to say as she likes to be able to see what’s in my head without having to drag it out of me. I also like to write. I have plenty of opinions and thoughts about our upcoming wedding and so I’m going to try and put down whatever I can with regards to what’s on my mind through the whole process. It really is kind of rare that we as guys have no actual thoughts or opinions about getting married. Unfortunately though, we’re sort of told growing up that it’s not really our day (which is garbage) and that we’re not supposed to be interested in the wedding planning itself (also garbage). I would wager that plenty of guys either already do have some significant input on their engagements/weddings and just don’t have an interest in voicing it or there just isn’t any visibility about it. I’m not really sure why why that is, but basically that’s the point I’m getting to. I want to put my ideas down so that down the road or even next week, myself or anyone else can say, “hey, that’s a great idea, I didn’t realize there was this thing I could be vocal about!”

So yeah, I started this thing up to have something to say and right now this is it. I didn’t anticipate using it as a sounding board for ideas about a wedding or getting/being married, but there you go. Sometimes we’re in control of our destinies and sometimes our blogs just dictate them for us. I wish that didn’t sound so ridiculous, but ridiculous is a pretty common part of my mental state. If anyone actually has an idea or suggestion that they want to hear me ramble on about, by all means let me know.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

