The State of Things

Sylvia has been out of town much of this week and things have been at a bit of a lull. About the only tasks I have on my plate that I can work on right now are getting pant sizes for the men standing with us and working on the playlist for the day of the event. Neither of them has been terribly pressing, even though every time the wedding comes up in conversation, people like to remind me that, “it’ll be here before you know it!” I’m not quite sure people like to mention that and frequently, but I’m not totally clueless and incapable of understanding how schedules and time works. It’ll all get done one way or another and I don’t need anyone unintentionally trying to freak me out about it.

Interestingly enough, every time I try to get any work on either task done, I get distracted. I’m not sure why, but I have noticed that I’ve been far more easily distracted lately. I think all of the hullabaloo over the invitations last week has given my subconscious an excuse to check out on wedding related stuff for a bit. Sylvia hasn’t mentioned much about the wedding the last few days I’ve been in contact with her either, but I think that’s just the nature of how things are when you’re traveling.

I’ve spent some time thinking about it this weekend and while I tend to nearly always be far more optimistic than necessary, we really are in kind of a good place right now. I think Sylvia and I both tend to be people who manage to sort of slowly meander our way toward getting a goal done and if it happens that there’s a crunch time necessary, we get it done and we get it done well. Granted, she tends to have far more things on her to do list than I think is necessary, but that suits her just fine for now. She’s just far better at multitasking which is why I think she tends to try and keep more plates spinning.

I’ve been doing a mental checklist of the things that we have gotten done and I think we’ve gotten done or have at least scheduled nearly every aspect of the wedding that we can. There are a lot of smaller elements and day of details to hammer out, but neither of them are things we can do anything about until we’re actually closer to the day. As of right now, we’re under five months out  from the big day and other than maybe transportation, I think we’re pretty much on top of it. We’ve got a venue, we’re scheduled for the menu tasting, we’ve got the cake sorted out, I’m scheduled for a suit fitting, Sylvia’s already been fitted for her dress, we’ve got most of the details for the attendants sorted, the invitations are done, we’re registered, and we have officiants. I’m sure there a number of elements about the wedding that I’m forgetting about since I don’t have the master list, but I’m sure there are also a number of things that are already done that I can’t recall at the moment either.

Honestly, I think at this point, the thing that we need to work on most is just relaxing a bit more and just taking care of ourselves outside of the getting married bit of business. Sylvia’s birthday was a few days ago and mine is next month and I’m really just looking forward to us celebrating ourselves as individuals getting older and wiser. I’m still looking forward to being married and part of a unit, but there is something super awesome about celebrating birthdays, especially when they’re not your own. At least that’s how I feel right now. I’m turning 30 next month and I’m actually excited for my body to be catching up with my demeanor.

Having said all that, I’m sure Sylvia will come home and read this and think that I’m nuts for thinking we’re in great shape, but that’s what love is, isn’t it? You know, thinking that someone is totally crazy and loving them not only in spite of it, but because of it.

Tags: ,

One Response to “The State of Things”

  1. Sylvia Says:

    you are nuts. 😛

Leave a Reply

